K’s Jazz Days

K’s Jazz Days


Duke Ellington: The Ellington Suites (1959, 1971-72) 地球上のどこにも実在しない民族音楽



 うーん、なるほど。ボクのなかでのジャズの「奇妙な味」 の系譜、モンクやドルフィーアヴァンギャルドな感触、と通底すると理解した。クラシック音楽との差異かを際立たせる、あの音の祖型だと。という訳で、いつかしっかり聴こうと思ってた。







Ellington Suites

Ellington Suites



Duke Ellington: The Ellington Suites (1959, 1971-72, Pablo Records)

The Queen's Suite
A1. Sunset And The Mocking Bird 3:46
A2. Lightning Bugs And Frogs 2:48
A3. Le Sucrier Velour 2:42
A4. Northern Lights 3:33
A5. The Single Petal Of A Rose 4:04
A6. Apes And Peacocks 3:00

The Goutelas Suite
B1. Fanfare 0:29
B2. Goutelas 1:10
B3. Get-with-Itness 1:52
B4. Something 5:21
B5. Having At It 3:30
B6. Fanfare 0:29

The Uwis Suite
B7. Uwis 7:48
B8. Klop 1:57
B9. Loco Madi 6:00

Double Bass – Jimmy Woode (tracks: A1 to A6), Joe Benjamin (tracks: B1 to B9)
Drums – Jimmy Johnson (2) (tracks: A1 to A4, A6), Rufus Jones (tracks: B1 to B9)

Photography By – Norman Granz
Piano – Duke Ellington
Reeds – Harold Ashby (tracks: B1 to B9), Harold Minerve (tracks: B1 to B9), Harry Carney (tracks: A1 to A4, A6 to B9), Jimmy Hamilton (tracks: A1 to A4, A6), Johnny Hodges (tracks: A1 to A4, A6), Norris Turney (tracks: B1 to B9), Paul Gonsalves (tracks: A1 to A4, A6 to B6), Russell Procope (tracks: A1 to A4, A6, B7 to B9)
Trombone – Booty Wood (tracks: B1 to B9), Britt Woodman (tracks: A1 to A4, A6), Chuck Connors (tracks: B1 to B9), John Sanders (tracks: A1 to A4, A6), Malcolm Taylor (tracks: B1 to B6), Quentin Jackson (tracks: A1 to A4, A6), Vince Prudente (tracks: B7 to B9)
Trumpet – Cat Anderson (tracks: A1 to A4, A6), Clark Terry (tracks: A1 to A4, A6), Cootie Williams (tracks: B1 to B9), Eddie Preston (tracks: B1 to B6), Shorty Baker* (tracks: A1 to A4, A6), Johnny Coles (tracks: B7 to B9), Mercer Ellington (tracks: B1 to B9), Money Johnson (tracks: B1 to B9), Ray Nance (tracks: A1 to A4, A6)
Written-By – Strayhorn* (tracks: A1 to A6), Ellington*
A1, A6: April 1, 1959, New York City
A2 to A4: February 25, 1959, New York City
A5: April 14, 1959, New York City
B1 to B6: April 27, 1971, New York City
B7 to B9: October 5, 1972, New York City
Released: 1976